Tea Ceremony

One of the most interesting experiences I had, involving traditional Japanese culture, was a tea ceremony. It showed how even when presenting guest something as insignificant, at least from a westerner’s perspective, as a drink of green tea, the Japanese use great amounts of patience and respect. I thought it was very interesting how after thanking for the tea and bowing, the drinker was expected to twist the bowl of tea, in order to show the intricate designs. In western culture I feel that one is supposed to notice how exquisite the dishes are, but not to mention it. It is some sort of quiet display of how wealthy they may be. Another thing that shocked me was that the tea came in a powder form. We have seen this at restaurants, but I thought this was just a cheap quick way of making the tea. In fact it is just ground tealeaves that apparently is the traditional way of making this beverage.

~ by iamnicholashenry on May 28, 2010.

One Response to “Tea Ceremony”

  1. I thought the tea ceremony was interesting as well. You can tell the patience and attention to detail the host have. From making the tea to the way they hand you the cup of tea. I didn’t want to mess up so I tired my best to follow the instructions on the way you were suppose to turn the cup and drink.

Leave a comment